Skip Navigation LinksHome > Support > BestMARC > Documentation > Editing > Checkpoints

Checkpoints



Overview

Whenever a MARC record is Created or Imported into BestMARC™, a copy of each record is saved into a separate value called a Checkpoint.

As you make changes to your records by Editing in the cataloger, or running Enhancements or Global Edits, the Checkpoint value is not changed.

You can always view a side-by-side comparison of the differences between the Checkpoint version of your MARC record and the current version.

Checkpoints are managed on the Edit tab.

Checkpoints

At any time you can undo all of these changes by running Restore Checkpoints, or accept these changes as the new Checkpoint comparison by running Update Checkpoints.

Compare Records

  • On the Edit tab, in the Checkpoints folder select Compare Records and click Preview.

  • The Checkpoint Compare window opens:

    Checkpoint Settings
  • Select the records you wish to compare.

    • Selected records - Compare just the selected records of the My Records grid.
    • Current page of records - Compare all the records on the current page of the My Records grid.
  • Click Compare. The Record Compare window opens:

    Compare

The Checkpoint record appears on the left (before changes were made) and the Current record appears on the right.

Click on a row in the Results section to view it in the record viewers above. Click Previous or Next to select the previous or next records in the list.

  • The numbers in the results represent the number of Adds, Changes, and Deletes that are detected. For instance, this row has 0 Adds, 4 Changes, and 1 Delete.
  • The highlighted rows in the record viewers correspond to the same colors as the Adds (yellow), Changes (blue), and Deletes (red) in the row counts.
  • Rows that have no changes are dimmed to make it easier to see rows with changes.
  • Click the arrow next to the row to see full change details for that row.

Click View Summary to view a total of changes across all records.

Update Checkpoints

A record's Checkpoint value is saved automatically when a record is first Imported or Created.

The Checkpoint values for records already in BestMARC™ can be updated at any time.

  • On the Edit tab, in the Checkpoints folder select Update Checkpoints.

  • Click Run.

  • The current value of the records is copied into the Checkpoint value.

Restore Checkpoints

Changes that were made since the last Checkpoint can be discarded to roll back your records to their previous state.

  • On the Edit tab, in the Checkpoints folder select Restore Checkpoints.

  • Click Run.

  • The current value of each record is restored from the Checkpoint value. Any changes that were made since the last time Update Checkpoints was run are lost.


< Previous: Workflows Next: Exporting >
Skip Navigation LinksHome > Support > BestMARC > Documentation > Editing > Checkpoints

This message is for Customer Service.

If you have a User ID please enter it in the notes field.

Your Name
Your Library
Your Automation System
Your Phone #
E-Mail
Your Location

I'd Like to...

Check all that apply.







Thank you. We'll get back to you as soon as we can.
If it's between 8am - 5pm Mon-Fri (central) you can also call us at 1-800-824-6272.
1-800-824-6272
Hours: 7am-5pm Central
Copyright
Mitinet 2017 ©
All rights reserved
(GDWEB3)